South Dakota Football Squad Presents Team Awards; Logan Named MVP

    VERMILLION, S.D. -- The South Dakota Football Squad, which finished 9-4 and won its first national playoff game in 20 years, recently announced its annual team and individual awards.

    South Dakota Head Football Coach Ed Meierkort and his staff presented the awards during a football banquet that included introduction of letterwinners, recognition of the seniors and video highlights of the past season.

    Senior running back Stefan Logan of Miami, Fla., was named the team's Most Valuable Player in a presentation by Meierkort. Already selected to three All-American teams, Logan was a finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II Football Player of the Year. In addition, Meierkort also presented senior defensive back Tim Dacy with the Coach's Award.

    The other awards included: Offensive Scout of the Year: Quincy Christie, freshman, Pierre, S.D. The award was presented by Coach TS Spencer.

    Defensive Scout of the Year: Andrew Pier, freshman, Vermillion, S.D. Coach Rob Cupich presented the award to Pier.

    Bulldog Award: Matt Murphy, senior, defensive lineman, Rapid City, S.D.; and Ryan Mach, senior, offensive tackle, Prague, Neb. Named for former Coyote Tim Mojzik, the awards were presented by Coach Brett Kramer.

    Most Valuable Freshman: Noah Shepard, redshirt freshman, quarterback, Thornton, Colo. The award was presented by assistant coach Joe Beschorner.

    Offensive Player of the Year: Tyler Evans, senior, fullback, Stewart, Minn. USD Offensive Coordinator Todd Hoffner made the award presentation.

    Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Davis, senior, defensive back, San Antonio, Texas. USD Defensive Coordinator Jim Glogowski made the award presentation.

    Special Teams Player of the Year: Travis Mlady, senior, Bloomfield, Neb. Coach Jarod Dodson made the award presentation.

    In addition, USD recognized its first and second team All-NCC performers. First team honorees included John Barker, senior, defensive tackle, Sioux City, Iowa; Davis; Logan; Chris Reid, senior defensive back, Hills, Minn.; Christian Morton, junior, offensive lineman, Norfolk, N.D.

    Second-team honorees included: Nick Walters, junior Parkersburg, Iowa; Tim Schneider, junior, offensive tackle, Adams, Minn.; Blake Hojer, sophomore, linebacker, DeSmt, S.D.; Justiss Scales, linebacker, Columbus, Ohio. Honorable mention All-NCC honorees included Desmond Allison, senior, wide receiver, Tampa, Fla.; senior punter Luke Mikkelsen, Gregory, S.D.; and Shepard.

    South Dakota (0-0) --
    Kansas State (0-0) --
    Manhattan, Kan. TBA
    • Teams played three times from 1980-82

    Photo Store | Shop Now! Yippin Yotes